Contact Us

Our Leadership

East London Scouts is the body responsible for Scouting in the London boroughs of Hackney and Tower Hamlets, run by two sets of volunteers:

  • The District Team made up of leaders who support our groups to deliver amazing activities and skills for life every week.
  • The Trustees who form our Executive Committee overseeing the administration and enabling the District Team to do their jobs.


Our District Team and Trustees are all listed below, along with their contact details.

General enquiries

If you're not sure who to contact or just want to make a general enquiry, then please fill in our contact form.


District Team

District Commissioner

Jon Ellison

Responsible for the overall leadership of the district and its strategic direction

email: dc@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Youth Commissioner

Ryan Wall

Tasked with making sure that young people are at heart of all our decision making

email: youth.shaped@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Programme

Deputy District Commissioner (Programme Support)

Ben Gray

(Also responsible for Scout Network)

email: programme@eastlondonscouts.org.uk, network@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Deputy District Commissioner (Programme Development)

Kevin Bridge

(Also responsible for Explorer Scouts)

email: programme@eastlondonscouts.org.uk, explorers@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Assistant Commissioner (Beavers)

Vanessa Taylor

Responsible for the delivery of Beaver Scouts to 6-8 year olds

email: beavers@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Duke of Edinburgh's Award

Michael Bellis - Award Scheme Advisor

Tamar Zedginidze - Award Scheme Administrator

email: DofE@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Support & Training

Deputy District Commissioner (Group Support)

Kay Leggett

email: support@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Deputy District Commissioner (Skills Support)

Carl Greenslade

email: support@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Local Training Manager

Debbie Carpenter

Responsible for the training of adult volunteers

email: training@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Appointments Secretary

Judy Phillips

Responsible for the appointments advisory sub-committee, part of the vetting process for adult volunteers.

email: appointments@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Growth & Development

Assistant Commissioner (Youth Recruitment)

Andrea Armstrong

Responsible for co-ordinating joining enquiries for young people

email: join@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Trustees

The district executive committee were elected at the AGM in May 2018. They can be contacted as a whole at: exec@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

They serve as the trustees of both the East London District Scout Council (reg. charity 1114589) and The Roland Philipps Fund for Scouts (reg. charity 281576)

Officers

Chair

Alan Hands

email: chair@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Secretary

Position Vacant - please contact the chair

email: secretary@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Treasurer

Peter Feilding

email: treasurer@eastlondonscouts.org.uk

Ex-officio Members

The following are automatically offered (and have accepted) membership of the district executive because of their role in Scouting:

  • Jonathan Ellison - District Commissioner
  • Ryan Wall - District Youth Commissioner
  • Kevin Bridge - Explorer Scout Commissioner

Elected Officials

The following were elected by the District Scout Council at the 2018 AGM:

  • Ben Gray
  • Joan Bridge
  • Kay Leggett

Co-opted Officials

The following were co-opted to support the committee because of their relevant experience:

  • Brian Bench (for Scout Hall, Bouverie Road)
  • Carl Greenslade (for Roland Philipps Scout Centre)
  • Paul Carr (for Fairmead Campsite)